Home / Trials and Studies/ Trial or Study

Effects of losartan on outcomes of patients hospitalized for acute COVID-19 (ARBs CORONA II)

Principal Investigator(s):

James A. Russell

Removed by Marcela July 2023 per Rob

Background. SARS-CoV-2 down-regulates angiotensin converting enzyme 2 potentially increasing angiotensin II. We hypothesized that losartan compared to usual care decreases mortality and is safe in hospitalized COVID-19 infected adults.


Inclusion criteria were adults admitted for acute COVID-19. Exclusion criteria were hypotension, hyperkalemia, acute kidney injury, and use of angiotensin receptor blockers (ARBs) or angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitors within 7 days. Patients were randomized to losartan (25-100 mg/day for the hospital duration or 3 months) versus usual care. The primary outcome was 28-day mortality. Secondary outcomes were hospital mortality; organ support; and serious adverse events.

This work is part of the ARBs CORONA program of research.

Participating Centres:

CANADA British Columbia: Vancouver, BC. St. Paul’s Hospital (Coordinating Centre): J. Russell, K. Tran, J. Boyd, K. Walley. Vancouver General Hospital: K. Tran, D. Sweet. Surrey, BC. Surrey Memorial Hospital: G. Haljan, O. Sharif. Victoria, BC. Island Health: D. Ovakim, G. Wood. Nanaimo, BC. Nanaimo General Hospital: D. Forrest, A. Teale. New Westminster, BC. Royal Columbian Hospital: S.Reynolds, P. Birk. Alberta: Calgary, Alberta. Calgary General Hospital; B. Winston. Ontario: Toronto: Sunnybrook Health Science Centre: R. Fowler, N. Daneman, N. Adhikari. St. Catherines, Ontario: Niagara Health: J. Tsang. Quebec: Montreal: McGill University Health Centre: M. Cheng, Todd Lee. Sherbrook, Quebec: Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke, F. Lamontagne. Quebec City: Laval University Hospital: A.Turgeon-Fournier. FRANCE Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Angers, Angers, France. Dr. Asfar. CCA – service de Médecine Intensive Réanimation, Nouvel Hôpital Civil, Hôpitaux Universitaires de Strasbourg, Strasbourg, France. Dr. Demiselle. Assistance Publique Hospitaux de Paris, Ambroise Paré, Paris, France – D. G. Geri. Centre Hospitalier de Cholet Réa, Cholet, France. Dr. J. Auchabie. Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Dijon, Dijon, France. Dr. JP Quenot. Novel Hopital Civil Strasbourg, Strasbourg, France. Dr. F. Meziani. Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Angers, Mal Inf, Angers, France. Dr. V. Dubee. Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Angers, Rea Chir, Angers, France. Dr. S. Lasocki. APHP Avicenne, Bobigny, France. Dr. Y. Cohen. CH de Vannes, Centre Hospitalier de Bretagne-Atlantique, Vannes, France. Dr. E. Lebas. Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Limoges, Limoges, France. Dr. M. Goudelin. Assistance Public Hopital de Paris Cochin, Paris, France. Dr. JP Mira. Service de Médecine Interne - Maladies Infectieuses – Hématologie, Centre Hospitalier Bretagne Atlantique, Vannes, France. Dr. M. Goussef. Centre Hopitalier Melun, Seine-et-Marne, France. Dr. P. Leroy. Centre Hospitalier Argenteuil, Argenteuil, France. Dr. G. Plantefev. Centre Hospitalier Agen, Saint-Esprit, France. Dr. P. Rispal. Centre Hospitalier Cholet, Mal Inf, Cholet, France. Dr. R. Courtois. Hopital St Joseph Marseille, Marseille, France. Dr. B. Bievenue. Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Rennes, Rennes, France. Dr. JM Tadie. CH Quimper, Quimper, France. Dr. JP Talarmin. Centre Hospitalier Regional Universitaire Brest, Brest, France. Dr. S. Ansart. Medical Monitors were Dr. Tae Won Yi and Dr. Adeera Levin, St. Paul’s Hospital and University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada.


Karen C. Tran MD, Pierre Asfar MD, Matthew Cheng MD, Julien Demiselle MD, Joel Singer PhD, Terry Lee PhD, David Sweet MD, John Boyd MD, Keith Walley MD, Greg Haljan MD, Omar Sharif MD, Guillaume Geri MD, Johann Auchabie MD, Jean-Pierre Quenot MD, Todd Lee MD, Jennifer Tsang MD, Ferhat Meziani MD, Francois Lamontagne MD, Vincent Dubee MD, Sigismond Lasocki MD, Daniel Ovakim MD, Gordon Wood MD, Alexis Turgeon-Fournier MD, Yves Cohen MD, Eddy Lebas MD, Marine Goudelin MD, David Forrest MD, Alastair Teale MD, Jean-Paul Mira MD, Robert Fowler MD, Nick Daneman MD, Neill Adhikari MD, Marie Goussef MD, Pierre Leroy MD, Gaetan Plantefeve MD, Patrick Rispal MD, Roxanne Courtois MD, Brent Winston MD, Steve Reynolds MD, Peter Birks MD, Boris Bienvenue MD, Jean-Marc Tadie MD, Jean-Phillipe Talarmin MD, Severine Ansart MD