Home / News & Events/ CCCTG News/ News
Back to listings

CCCTG congratulates Karen Burns, recipient of the 2024 Deborah J. Cook Mentorship Award

June 13, 2024

The Deborah J. Cook Mentorship Award was presented to Karen Burns in Winnipeg at the CCCTG Annual General Meeting on June 11. Andrew Seely, Chair of the CCCTG Career Development & Mentorship Committee, read excerpts from the letters in support of her nomination, highlighting Karen’s tremendous mentorship within the critical care community and beyond.

“She has an exemplary and long-standing record as a highly effective and empathic mentor to students, interprofessional team members, family members of patients, and her peers. She is a tireless mentor to women in critical care and has made seminal contributions through her extensive scholarly portfolio.”

“As a mentor, Dr. Burns went beyond the technicalities of our work; she has been a constant source of advice and support throughout my career journey. Her guidance has been pivotal in shaping my professional trajectory, providing insights that extend beyond the confines of our immediate projects. Dr. Burns has demonstrated a profound commitment to my success, offering strategic advice and encouragement that has been indispensable in navigating the challenges of a burgeoning career. I would not have been able to keep my dream alive to pursue a master’s degree without out her support and guidance.”

“She has consistently added me to challenging projects to spur my own abilities and increasingly pushed me towards greater independence as I transitioned from a student to an independent physician and researcher.”

The Trials Group celebrates the remarkable achievements of all of the 2024 Deborah J. Cook Mentorship Award nominees:

Anne-Marie Guerguerian

Nicole Marten

Bram Rochwerg

Damon Scales, and

Marat Slessarev

About the award: The Deborah J. Cook Mentorship Award was established in 2015 to emphasize the importance of mentors in developing Canada's next generation of critical care researchers. The award honours persons who have made exceptional contributions to the promotion of critical care research among Canadian fellows, graduate and post- graduate students, young investigators, research coordinators and allied health care providers.

The CCCTG extends its sincere appreciation to all of this year’s nominating teams, the nominees, the selection committee, and of course to Deborah Cook, whose mentorship inspired the creation of this award.


There are currently no comments.

Log in to post a comment.